Sheepscot Valley Regional School Unit 12

The Town of Alna belongs to RSU (Regional School Unit) 12, known as the Sheepscot Valley Regional School Unit or SVRSU. This district serves the communities of Alna, Chelsea, Palermo, Somerville, Westport Island, Whitefield, and Windsor. Shools that are part of RSU-12 include Sheepscot Valley, Chelsea Elementary, Palermo Consolidated, Somerville Elementary, Whitefield Elementary, and Windsor Elementary.
The RSU 12 School Board includes two members from Alna, each elected for a three-year term.  School Board members must balance fiscal realities and the needs associated with improving student achievement. They must become well versed in RSU 12’s finances; be advocates for their students, programs, and teachers; anticipate the impact of rapidly changing state and federal regulations; and keep the community engaged and informed.

The duties of school boards in Maine are primarily set forth in Maine Statutes
Title 20-A, and Maine Department of Education administrative rules. The administrative rules have the effect of law and provide direction to boards as they implement the legal requirements of Title 20-A.